Jorge Masvidal Finished Donald Cerrone Twice, And The Replay Proves It!

Not many people gave Jorge Masvidal much of a chance to beat Donald Cerrone in the co-main event of this past Saturday’s UFC on Fox 23. Not only did Masvidal win, he did it impressively, knocking out Cerrone in the second round.

The fight didn’t end without controversy.

When the first round was coming to a close, Masvidal dropped Cerrone with a vicious right hook and pounced him with ground and pound punches. Referee Herb Dean seemed to pull Masvidal off of Cerrone before the bell sounded. But, Dean told Masvidal the bell had sounded and the fight was heading into the second round.

Masvidal’s coach at American Top Team Mike Brown talked about the controversy and stated what a lot people think, Masvidal knocked Cerrone out twice.

“That was a real weird situation,” Brown said on the Anik & Florian podcast. “Looking back at the tape, he did waive it off. He waived the fight off, it was over, and then like a second later, a half-second later, then the buzzer went. So if you look at it, Jorge got two finishes that night in my book.

 “I jumped up, I celebrated, I thought he won. I ran into the cage and Jorge told me that it wasn’t over. He’s like, ‘It’s not over. It’s not over,’ and I’m like, ‘Oh no!’ So I had to run back out and grab the stool. I wasn’t sure what I saw but after looking back at it, he waved it off and then the buzzer went. It was a little confusing at the time but Jorge realized it right away and got things back together.
Masvidal’s now won three consecutive fights. A big fight seems to be on the horizon for “Gamebred”. And Brown has an opponent in mind.
“Big fight. No. 1 contender type spot,” Brown continued. “Maybe like a (Demian) Maia, something like this. He’s ready, he’s there, and he can beat anyone in the division.”